forum.alglib.net

ALGLIB forum
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 12:47 pm

All times are UTC

Forum rules

1. This forum can be used for discussion of both ALGLIB-related and general numerical analysis questions
2. This forum is English-only - postings in other languages will be removed.

Post subject: IDW Interpolation with VBA
PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 2:22 pm 

Hi,

First of all let me say that I'm not a programmer but I'm fascinated but such a great resource of recipes that ALGLIB provides. What I'd like to achive is the following:

I have a number of experimentally measured values Z at certain X and Y.
They are not uniformly spaced, i.e. the difference between one Y and the other is not always the same (also the Xs are not uniformly spaced).
I'd like to interpolate the Z values for certain X and Y values.

I plan to achive that by using VBA in Excel (that's the only thing I have available). Is it correct that the IDWBuildModifiedShepardR would be a good starting point for that?

Are there any example files that you know of that could help me getting started. I know this must sound trivial for you experts. There was a great website for the splines by http://newtonexcelbach.wordpress.com which helped me a lot but I couldn't find anything similar for the IDWInterpolation.

Thanks very much for any advice,

Alex

Post subject: Re: IDW Interpolation with VBA
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 6:57 am 
Site Admin

Hello!

Unfortunately, IDW is weakly documented feature, and there are serious problems with VBA documentation too. ALGLIB project includes tools to generate examples in multiple languages, but these example use console to output results - and VBA has no console.

I recommend to start from something simple, like R-based variant of algorithm (created using IDWBuildModifiedShepardR() function). After you get familiar with it, you can try moving to advanced topics.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 11:40 am