forum.alglib.net
http://forum.alglib.net/

Requred Number of Nodes in Akima
http://forum.alglib.net/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=851
Page 1 of 1

Author:  MichaelScheffenacker [ Wed May 22, 2013 3:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Requred Number of Nodes in Akima

Regarding to your manual (VB6) 5 nodes are required for a Akima spline interpolant; regarding to literature 4 should be sufficient. Is it possible to run the alglib Akima with just 4 nodes?

Code:
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
'This subroutine builds Akima spline interpolant

INPUT PARAMETERS:
    X           -   spline nodes, array[0..N-1]
    Y           -   function values, array[0..N-1]
    N           -   points count, N>=5

Author:  Sergey.Bochkanov [ Thu May 23, 2013 5:58 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Requred Number of Nodes in Akima

I've studied algorithm one more time, and - yes, it is possible. Akima spline with N=4 will become parabolic spline (or something like this), and everything should work. BTW, newer versions of ALGLIB will throw exception for N=4 so you will have to comment out line which performs check for N being >=5.

Author:  Sergey.Bochkanov [ Thu May 23, 2013 6:01 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Requred Number of Nodes in Akima

BTW, I've added support for N=2...4 to issues tracker, so it will appear in 3.8.0

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/